The Daily Post | Uncanned Laughter

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

 

Have you ever wondered why some of the English syllables were pronounced differently? Haha! However, that’s where all the fun begins! :D

 

While walking down the aisle of SM Hypermarket, me and my boyfriend have been talking about anything and everything under the sun. Well, we always do that wherever we are, but this time is a much weird conversation.

We started with babbling about Kettle Korn (popcorn), and then where we’ll eat after shopping. Then, we’ve been discussing which is better: green tea or milk tea. After shopping, we’re just quiet.

Few minutes of silence passed, and we just stayed like that. Then we passed by a stall of Dunkin Donuts. He asked me, “Do you want some doughnuts?”

 

I laughed. As in laugh out loud.

 

“What’s wrong with you my dear?” I managed to ask while I’m still laughing.

“What’s wrong with YOU?” Though it looks like he was irritated with the emphasis in YOU, he’s also laughing like I do.

“Doughnut?” Imitating his pronunciation. (Take note: He pronounced the word “dough” as “daf” like how we pronounce “tough”)

“It makes sense you know. ‘ough’ as ‘af’. Would you prefer saying ‘tough’ as ‘tow’?”

 

I laughed even harder. “But that’s another word dear. Though. With the H after T.”

“That’s different. I’m not talking about that either. Hahaha!” He said.

“You know what? This doesn’t make any sense sweetie. Let’s just go home.” I told him, and he nodded in agreement.

 

After a few steps, he caught my attention again as he said, “Do you want some ‘daf’nuts?”

 

And we both laughed as long as we could. :D

bb615186ab0e644876f099e891e0da6d
source

 

Love,
Huntress

7 thoughts on “The Daily Post | Uncanned Laughter

  1. This was funny. When I was younger, I used to pronounce lingerie as in linger-ee, and muscle as Muskel. I never felt so embarrassed when I got corrected by my sister. She laughed and never got over it.

    Like

    1. I guess we all have a fair share of mispronounced words whether we’re young or not. Haha! At least we have some pretty simple ways to make ourselves laugh.

      Thanks for visiting my blog! :D

      Love,
      Huntress

      Like

Leave a Reply

