BAD | A Thought For Tuesday

Intimacy without commitment, like icing without cake, can be sweet, but it ends up making us sick.
– Joshua Harris | I Kissed Dating Goodbye

 

Being out of the blogging world gave me lots of time to read books and various articles. I’ve read various opinions about dating, relationships, and the hook-up culture. I also shared my thoughts in one of my posts entitled, It’s Not For Everyone.

 

Now, as I read Joshua Harris’ book I Kissed Dating Goodbye, I’ve been given more insights about dating. If you’re not going to read past the title, you might think that Joshua is just an extremist with a weird belief. As you finish reading the content, you’ll learn that he’s just a follower of God’s word. He’s just an obedient messenger.

 

I know it’s too late, and reading this book might be a waste of time for me. I’ve been in various relationships, met different kinds of people, and established friendships with lots of men. I thought the book won’t do any harm, or won’t tickle my mind. Again, after reading past the title, I already knew I was wrong.

 

I was once one of those people who don’t really care about commitment. I was enjoying the “feeling” when someone asked me out. Or when someone tells me he likes me. I was enjoying the attention and the company. But it just ends there. I wasn’t thinking about committing myself to that person for the rest of my life. I was thinking, “It’s just not right. Not now. I still want to have fun.”

 

Considering my present relationship, I can say that both of us have committed to each other. We’ve been telling and showing each other how we feel responsible for our betterment, and how we should look after one another. Love and affection is always present, as well as pretty weird discussions that makes us better people.

 

We’re not perfect, and I know we’ll never will. I can’t be the same again. I can’t be one of those most respected youth in our organization. I’m not that honest anymore. In regards to my relationship, I’m not that innocent anymore.

 

Tell me, is it really worth the time if I continue reading this book? Or should I get the lessons I could derive from it, and start all over again?

 

I know God will forgive me, as soon as I ask for forgiveness. I know He’ll help me recover from the troubles that I’ve done. I know there’s still a chance for me to be a better person, as long as I decide to take the first step.

 

I’m full of guilt. I’m happy as to where I am now, or who I am today. But, I’m confused.

 

But now I am so sure that the joy of intimacy is the reward of commitment.

ddgrafixto_the_horizon

And I’ll never forget that. :D

 

PS: Anyone there who read the book? I don’t want some spoilers, but can you answer my questions? Do you think I have to continue reading this?

 

 

 

Love,
Huntress

2 thoughts on “BAD | A Thought For Tuesday

Leave a Reply

