B.A.D | Thankful Thursday

caba88ed2fdf985c607fec2985d9547f
photo source

It’s been a while now, and I wasn’t able to post updates due to my busy schedule. Well, sort of busy schedule. Hah! No matter how busy I am, I won’t miss the chance to share how grateful I am for the days that passed.

 

I had my endoscopy procedure last Tuesday afternoon at the Manila Doctor’s Hospital. I was there with my father and my cousin Nikka. That procedure was requested by my gastroenterologist to check if I had ulcer.

We arrived at the hospital at 10AM, three hours before my procedure. It looks like I’m excited, yes? We’re just avoiding heavy traffic, and we still don’t know where the hospital is. It gave us ample time to search for the Endoscopy unit and to relax a bit more.

While waiting, we’re talking about the possible illnesses that we could hear from my doctor. The words “tumor” and “abdominal hernia” were frightening as I don’t want further treatments. I can’t think of any mild illness since all those threatening ones were inside my head, including cancer. I’m an over-thinker, you know. :D

To cut the long story short, I had my EDP at 1:30. Thanks to my doctor who come home late, and to those tons of papers that are needed to be signed. Hahah! After changing into the hospital gown, I was instructed to lay in their bed. A petite lady in blue came near me.

“Is it your first time to undergo this procedure?” she asks.

“Yes, it is.” I answered. I think I answered her with words or with a nod. I can’t remember.

“Let me have your wrist for your IV.” She reaches for my ice-cold hand, one that she didn’t notice ’cause the temp in the room was already cool. She instructed me to close and open my hands. After a minute or two, she asked me to keep my fist closed.

“It’s your first time to have IV, too?” she said while (I guess) inwardly laughing at my pale, nervous look.

Again, I nodded.

I was trying to snatch my hand from her grasp, but she scolded me. “Don’t move your hand. You’ll be hurt more. Slowly open your hands now.”

I did what she said.

She removed the needle. “I already removed the needle. What’s left is a plastic tube there. You won’t be hurt when you try to move your hands.” She smiled again.

And me, the ever curious lady, tried to move my hands. She noticed it and asks, “Why do you have such hands?” And I didn’t understood what she meant by that.

I wanted to ask her about her question, but my attention was redirected to a tall man who came near me. He was the assistant of the anesthesiologist, if I remember it right.

“Hello Ms. Aileen,” he said. “I’ll be giving you this for a drink. It will help in numbing your throat. OK? Open your mouth.”

Again, I did as I’ve told.

“Do you feel the numb already?” he asked again.

I nodded. I don’t have the words to say ’cause I’m so tensed. I think my heart was in a marathon that time, and was looking forward to bringing home the bacon. Tss.

“Open your mouth again and I’ll spray more of the medicine. It won’t taste nice, I know, but you really need this.”

Do I have any choice, doc? I said to myself. I did what he said.

The med tastes like banana and lychee together when they first sprayed it. But the second and third spray revealed the awful taste. I found it hard to swallow during the second spray, and almost impossible in the third.

While I was busy thinking how to swallow the last ounce of med, my hand with the IV was pain-stricken. The last words I heard was, “Close you eyes and let the anesthesia work.”

I did what he said and I remember nothing else.

I woke up feeling dizzy, blinded by the light, and alone. When I fell asleep, nurses and doctors were around me, and now I am all by myself. Few minutes later, the very handsome nurse removed the pillow at my back, telling me that the procedure was done and I should take a rest. For the Nth time, I did what he said.

However, I didn’t fell asleep again. I was looking at the IV bag, thinking how long I’ve been asleep since it’s almost empty. I was able to see the clock, but I wasn’t sure if it says 2:00 or 3:00 pm. A few minutes later, my gastroenterologist, Dr. Romero, came near my hospital bed and uttered something about the results. I was too dizzy to understand everything that he said, so I feel like I have to visit him and ask for more information. Hehehe!

After another 10 minutes of looking at the ceiling and waiting for my prince charming slash gorgeous nurse to pass by, Dr. Romero removed my IV, and called another nurse to assist me in changing to my clothes. She helped me reach the bathroom ’cause I was swaying like a drunken lady from a bar. Hahah!

When I came out of the CR, my cousin was waiting for me ’cause I still have to sign more papers. I thought I finished signing all the docs. I was wrong. This time, I signed the bill, and I was shocked by the digits. Whew! Thanks to health card and PhilHealth, my payment was reduced to 100 Php.

After paying, I was given a CD, which contains the video of the procedure, plus a copy of the bill. The receptionist told me everything was set and we could go home already.

And that was the end of my EDP journey.

Oh no! My mistake! Hahah! After fasting for six hours, we ate at Mang Inasal. I ordered pork sisig and halo-halo. Such a big meal for an upset tummy. I was kinda disappointed by the amount of sisig on my plate, but I was satisfied with the taste. I think that’s just right.

Then we traveled to Antipolo. I stopped by a drugstore and bought my medicines. I expected expensive medicines again, but I was shocked that it was that expensive. Wow! I was a bit happy ’cause I didn’t spend much on the laboratory, but my wallet was crying ’cause of the medicines. *sigh*

We went to visit the new house of my cousin in Camella homes, and we stayed there for the whole night. It’s nice to see my cousins after a long time, so we had a great night talking and talking. Until I fell asleep.

The next morning, we watched the movie Sabotage until 10 am. Then, we prepared for another long travel to my another uncle’s house. He wasn’t there, so we chatted with my aunt instead. we waited until 2pm, but he didn’t came.

We left Antipolo at 2pm, and traveled to Cubao to visit my aunt. We spent a few minutes there, since my father might be late for his travel back to Bicol.

See how busy I was? I had fever the day after the EDP, but I didn’t mention that to my father. He’ll be worried, I’m sure. After a long day of commute and shopping, I went home and slept.

It’s been a roller coaster of events and emotions. I’m glad that all is well. So now, I’m looking forward to less medical appointments and more creative thoughts on my blog.

Love,
Huntress

Leave a Reply

